About us

The Faculty of Medicine was established on 17 March 1978 at the initiative of the University of Banja Luka, with the aim to educate university degree experts holding the professional title of doctor of medicine. The first lecture was given on 15 November 1978. 

Since then, the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Banja Luka has evolved with a range of new study programs licences.)

In addition to the integrated study programs (Medicine, Dentistry, Pharmacy) the following new study programs have been licenced: Midwifery, Physiotherapy, Nursing, Sanitary Engineering, Medical Laboratory Diagnostics, Radiological Tehnology, Master of Health Studies, and a new course of the Master of Health Studies – Child and Youth Mental Health.

Currently, the Faculty of Medicine has all three cycles of studies – nine study programs on the bachelor level, the second cycle of studies – Master of Health Studies, as well as the third cycle of studies – Biomedical Sciences. 

A significant number of lecturers invited and visiting professors from the country and abroad are included in postgraduate education, thus the conditions have been created for students to get introduced to the novelties and contemporary trends in medicine.

In the last few years, the Faculty has paid significant attention to the expansion of space, technical equipment and staff training, in order to enable the provision of contemporary expertise. 

A special reference should be made regarding the modern cabinet for clinical skills, where students have the opportunity to practice on robotised models and master the practical skills needed for clinical work, as well as the digitised package “Anatom-E”, which allows students to learn the constitution and the structure of the human body in a modern and innovative way.

Alongside its educational and teaching role, the Faculty has also developed special sub- organisational units such as: the Centre for Specialist Studies and Continuing Education, Dental Clinic, the Medical Specialist Centre and the Biomedical Research Centre.